Cobra 2000 GTL Review

Cobra 2000GTL CB Radio
4.8
4.8 rating
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 11 reviews)
Excellent82%
Very good18%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Cobra 2000 GTL Overview

The Cobra 2000 CB Radio was first manufactured in the early 1980’s by the Dynascan Corporation in Chicago USA. It is a 40 Channel AM/SSB rig with built in frequency counter, 13.8V power supply and it’s own external speaker. The Cobra 2000 was perhaps the most legendary CB ever produced and even today it is a sort after radio. With sleek looks and a great RX and TX they even hold their own against most of the modern day rigs.

Reviews

Always wanted a Cobra 2000

5.0 rating
September 15, 2020

It’s a radio that I always wanted but just never ended up getting one. Man they look a treat especially with the blue LED kits etc. Maybe one day I’ll own one. I have spoke to many operators over the years who are using the Cobra’s and the audio has always been superb. Great looking radio, great performers, I want one!

John Beard

Cobra 2000

5.0 rating
August 26, 2020

By far the very best Base Station… I brought this radio around 1983 I haven’t keyed up in over 25 years, it still looks good and I’m sure it works very well

Goody

excellent radio

5.0 rating
October 26, 2019

I love this radio,best I’ve ever owned and talked on,my Grandfather bought it brand new,I talked on it for years and it’s still loud and proud,with a D-104 and a Hygain CLRll antenna…243 Ontario Canada.

Mark

Bloody magnificent radio !

5.0 rating
October 21, 2019

Best rig ever made, second to none. I always wanted one but never got there. Legendary styling and great performance from an old radio.

Brett Matthews

The second most Iconic Radio of all Time

4.0 rating
October 19, 2019

This Iconic Transceiver has held its ground for the last 30 years plus !!!!! its now a high demand item for the older collectors… which means you and me pay more today than they cost years ago… Finding one that hasn’t had the butchers up down frequency switch’s drilled in the case is a major ask too…. Why do collectors have to own multiple units when surely one’s enough… never owned one.. just a touch on the expensive side now… has always been my dream to own one though..

john Brader

Great CB rig from the past

4.0 rating
October 17, 2019

The Cobra 2000 was a great radio and very popular in the united states. Many have made their way into Australia and other countries. They still hold their own against some of the latest rigs. They look great and even though most are getting to the age of needing repairs, once tuned up and aligned they will perform well for years to come.

Brian East

Cobra 2000

5.0 rating
October 16, 2019

Very nice radios. I have 5 of them in my shack. If I was home I would add a picture of them all.

Bill Spencer

Performance Plus and best looking

5.0 rating
October 16, 2019

I myself own one of these beautiful radios.best radio I’ve ever had.receive I never heard any better,never had any better ssb performance or am performance.

Jay Jay Smith

Cobra 2000

5.0 rating
October 16, 2019

I think it’s great looking and performing well c b radio I have owned one and am very happy with it works well with a Silver Eagle microphone hooked up to it.

Dan

Brilliant rig with looks to match

5.0 rating
October 16, 2019

I’d have to agree that the Cobra 2000 is a legendary radio, it is up there with the Madison and GE Superbase. Besides these no other radios comes near it. Great RX, really punchy and loud TX especially when matched up with a Turner or an Astatic D-104.

Roger Matthews

The Best Base Station CB Radio ever made

5.0 rating
October 16, 2019

The Cobra 2000 was without doubt up there with the best CB’s ever made. They look great, have a frequency counter and all the features that you could ever want. The external speaker produces great audio and the RX and TX are brilliant. After these rigs have been tweaked and modded then they perform as good as or better than any of the latest rigs. I always wanted a Cobra 2000, maybe one day.

Dean Michael